Electronic Arts SportsThe circular EA Sports logo Electronic Arts FIFAThe EA Sports FIFA logo
Electronic Arts SportsThe EA Sports logo

FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs Amsterdam Tournament Format

Posted May 25th at 6:00am.

After six months of intense competition, only 128 FIFA 18 competitors remain on the hunt for one of 32 qualification berths to the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final. The EA SPORTS FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs will narrow that group down to the final roster for the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final. The Playoffs will be held in the storied football city of Amsterdam from May 28 to 30 for the Xbox division and June 1 to 3 for PlayStation.

The format for each Playoff event will be the same as the FUT Champions Cups in Barcelona and Manchester, including the Swiss-style group stage. 

Matches and Tiebreakers

Each match will consist of two games between the two competitors, and the winner will be determined by the aggregate score of both games. 

Throughout every stage of the tournament, including the console finals, if a match remains tied in aggregate score after the second game, there will be extra time and, if needed, a penalty shootout will decide the winner.

Group Stage

Each playoff event begins with 64 players, with 32 progressing to a single-elimination knockout stage seeded based on their group stage performance.

The Swiss-style group stage format is played according to the following guidelines:

  • All competitors are paired up for each match based on their record in the stage thus far, so everyone will only play against someone with their exact win-loss record
  • Competitors will play up to seven rounds (or fourteen matches) in the group stage
  • Competitors will not play two rounds against the same opponent
  • Competitors who earn four group stage wins will qualify to the knockout stage
  • Competitors who register four losses will be immediately eliminated from the tournament.

Knockout Stage

The 32 advancing competitors from each playoff event will be seeded into a single-elimination bracket based on their record in the group stage. The Round of 32 will be the most important part of the tournament, as it will decide the 16 players that will qualify for the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final.

The knockout stage will then move onto the round of 16, before progressing through the bracket as usual with the quarterfinals and semifinals until there are two competitors left in the console final. 

Console Final 

The final stage of each of the FIFA 18 Global Series Playoff events is the console final. A two-game match  will be played between the remaining two competitors on each console. The player with the highest aggregate score after the two games (or after a penalty shootout) will be the winner and claim the US $35,000 prize. 

FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final

The results of the final day of competition will be crucial in deciding the final groups of the FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final to be played later in the year. The 32 competitors qualified will be placed in 4 groups of 8 players grouped by console. The FIFA eWorld Cup Grand Final will ultimately crown the undisputed FIFA 18 World Champion.

Make sure to subscribe to the EA SPORTS FIFA YouTube ChannelTwitch Channel, Twitter, and Facebook so you don't miss any of the action from Amsterdam. You can also check out the full schedule, including dates and times, on our schedule page.

Plus, catch our extended coverage including exclusive, behind-the-scenes content live from Manchester on Twitter, Instagram, and Snapchat.


* Eligibility restrictions apply.  Not all platforms are supported for qualification.  See Official Rules for details. Final terms and structure subject to change. 

Previous FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs Roster Next Spencer's Five PS4 Players to Watch in the Playoffs

Related Articles

FIFA 19 Ultimate Team UEFA Champions League Items

Learn about some of the exclusive UEFA Champions League content being added to FIFA 19 Ultimate Team this season.

FIFA 19 Ultimate Team Ones to Watch FAQ

Get all the details for this year's Ones to Watch event in FUT 19.

Getting Started with FIFA 19 Ultimate Team

Building your FIFA 19 Ultimate Team (FUT) squad is easier than ever with our step-by-step guide to getting started.

Returning FIFA 19 Ultimate Team ICONS

Check out every ICON that is coming back with FUT 19, including those found in FUT 18 and in previous versions of Ultimate Team.

Mossad “Msdossary” Aldossary triumphs at the FIFA 18 eWorld Cup Grand Final in London

Saudi Arabia's MSDossary became the FIFA 18 World Champion in London, dominating the Xbox One bracket and defeating Belgian pro StefanoPinna in the Grand Final to lift the coveted FIFA eWorld Cup trophy.