Electronic Arts SportsThe circular EA Sports logo Electronic Arts FIFAThe EA Sports FIFA logo
Electronic Arts SportsThe EA Sports logo

Barcelona FUT Champions Cup Tournament Format - FIFA 18 Global Series

Posted January 12th at 5:00pm.

The EA SPORTS™ FIFA 18 Global Series* on The Road to the FIFA eWorld Cup 2018 will bring the top FIFA 18 competitors to some of the most renowned football cities in the world.

After an enthralling month of qualification during the November Weekend League, the top 128 FUT Champions competitors (split evenly between PlayStation®4 and Xbox One) will kick off the highly competitive three-day FUT Champions Cup in Barcelona from January 26-28, 2018.

We are introducing a brand-new tournament format with this competition that is intended to increase the quality and quantity of matches, as well as ensure that only the best players move on from each stage. 

Matches and Tiebreakers

Each match will consist of 2 games between the same opponents. The winner will be determined by the aggregate score.

Throughout every stage of the tournament, including the Grand Final, if a match remains tied in aggregate score after the second game, there will be Extra Time and if needed, penalties will decide the winner.

Group Stage

Each platform's group stage will start with 64 players seeded based on their FUT Champions qualifying results, and it will end with 32 players qualifying for a single elimination Knock-out Stage with placement based on their group stage performance.

Our group stage will be based on a Swiss-system tournament. 

What this means is:

  • There will be 64 Players in a single group.
  • Competitors will play up to seven matches (or fourteen games) against opponents with similar results.
  • Competitors will not play two matches against the same opponent.
  • Competitors who earn four match wins will qualify to the Knock-out Stage
  • Competitors who register four match losses will be immediately eliminated from the tournament

Knockout Stage

Each platform's final 32 competitors down to 1

The 32 advancing competitors from each platform will be seeded into a single elimination bracket based on their record in the Group Stage. At the conclusion of the Knock-out Stage, each platform will have one competitor remaining, and the console winners will face off against each other in the Grand Final. The top eight competitors on each platform will secure a place in the FIFA 18 Global Series Playoffs to be played in June.

Grand Final 

The final stage of the FUT Champions Cup is the Grand Final, a two-game round between the winners of the PlayStation 4 Division and the Xbox One Division. One game is played on each console and the player with the highest aggregate score after the two games will win the FUT Champions Cup Barcelona, and the US $22,000 prize. 

Make sure to subscribe to the EA SPORTS FIFA YouTube Channel and  Twitch Channel so you don't miss any of the action from Barcelona on January 26 -28.

* Eligibility restrictions apply.  Not all platforms are supported for qualification.  See Official Rules for details. Final terms and structure subject to change. 


Next FIFA 18 Ultimate Team Champions for Beginners

Related Articles

FIFA 19 Ultimate Team UEFA Champions League Items

Learn about some of the exclusive UEFA Champions League content being added to FIFA 19 Ultimate Team this season.

FIFA 19 Ultimate Team Ones to Watch FAQ

Get all the details for this year's Ones to Watch event in FUT 19.

Getting Started with FIFA 19 Ultimate Team

Building your FIFA 19 Ultimate Team (FUT) squad is easier than ever with our step-by-step guide to getting started.

Returning FIFA 19 Ultimate Team ICONS

Check out every ICON that is coming back with FUT 19, including those found in FUT 18 and in previous versions of Ultimate Team.

Mossad “Msdossary” Aldossary triumphs at the FIFA 18 eWorld Cup Grand Final in London

Saudi Arabia's MSDossary became the FIFA 18 World Champion in London, dominating the Xbox One bracket and defeating Belgian pro StefanoPinna in the Grand Final to lift the coveted FIFA eWorld Cup trophy.