Dev Blog: Legends of the Majors

Hey everyone, Travis Sailer here to tell you more about one of our most exciting modes in Tiger Woods PGA TOUR 14: Legends of the Majors (LOTM). Travel back through time and defeat nine of golf’s greatest icons: Arnold Palmer, Jack Nicklaus, Seve Ballesteros, Ben Hogan, Bobby Jones, Gary Player, Sam Snead, Lee Trevino and of course, Tiger Woods. 

In addition to having some of the greatest players to ever pick up a golf club, we also give you access to all four majors for the first time.

The first thing you’ll notice about the mode is the timeline, which is your main menu as you work your way through the history of LOTM.

It’s broken up into six different eras from the Dawn of Tournament Golf (1873-1934) all the way up to Legends in the Making (2006-2013). Each event is represented with a logo corresponding to the type of major it’s based on. You’ll also see historical notes, pictures and quotes throughout.

When you start the mode, the first event of each era is unlocked so you can bounce around the different eras. 

The challenges range from recreating one historical shot all the way up to matching an 18-hole score from one of the legends. 

At the end of each era there will a final showdown against one or more Legends. For those challenges you will be using your created golfer to try and #TakeDownLegends.

Each era will look and play differently–with specific visual treatments, physics and clubs to transport you back in time.

Each legend will also play differently with their specific swing styles and strengths. So you’ll have to learn and adapt your play along the way from using Bobby Jones with his Spoon and Mashie up to Jack Nicklaus using Persimmon Woods.

Tiger Woods PGA TOUR 14 is now available for Xbox 360 and PlayStation 3. Order your copy today!

For more details, hit us up on Twitter or Facebook.

See you all on the course,
Travis Sailer
Associate Producer Tiger WOODS PGA TOUR 14

Catch up on other Tiger 14 Dev Blogs:
Simulation Difficulty
Swing Style